CLASS DETAILS

  • Cost: $65.00 (or $60.00 for ERGC Members)
  • You must bring:
    • Eye protection
    • Hearing protection
  • We will provide:
    • Firearms
    • Ammunition
  • Participation by convicted felons or those restricted by law from firearm ownership/use is strictly prohibited.
  • You must REGISTER for the class ahead of time! Click the calendar item for the date you would like to attend, and click “Register”.
  • Class size is limited to 10 participants.
  • Liability wavers will be required. Please click here to sign the ERGC Liability Waiver online.
  • Note: The certificate that you will receive after completion of this class will satisfy the safety class requirements to obtain a concealed weapons permit throughout the state of Florida. Application information will be provided.

CLASS OUTLINE

  • Basic Firearms Safety
  • Sight Alignment, Target Acquisition, Grip and Shooting Positions
  • Best practice methods
    • How to practice safely
    • Why practice is crucial
  • Which handgun is best for you?
    • Revolver
    • Semi-automatic
  • Can you live safely in a dangerous world?
  • Different methods of concealed carry
  • Is deadly force ever justifiable?
    • Protection of yourself and loved ones
    • Concealed carry laws
    • Florida Use of Force laws
  • Shooting under direct supervision
    • Slow fire
    • Hints and tips
  • Graduation and presentation of certificates

HOW TO REGISTER FOR A COURSE

If you are NOT an ERGC Member:

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

You will need to REGISTER and sign the CCW Class Waiver, log into the Portal, and click “Book Training Classes” from the Portal menu to select the date of the class you would like to Book and Purchase a package for.

If you ARE an ERGC Member:

CLICK HERE TO LOGIN

You will need to LOGIN and click “Book Training Classes” from the Portal menu to select the date of the class you would like to Book and Purchase a package for. Be sure to sign the CCW Class Waiver, even if you have already signed one.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION & RESOURCES

Class Materials

The CCW PowerPoint presentation is used during the classroom portion of the class:

  • Impact Correction Chart
  • Where and How to Apply
  • Information on Insurance
  • Information on Other States
  • How to Train

Frequently Asked Questions

The course is conducted the third Saturday of every month. It is announced on our web site and you are able to pay on line. Pandemics may affect this of course. If it is announced on the web site the course is on!

No. However, you are welcome to wear one if you like.

Visit the Florida CCW web site by clicking here. It has a lot of helpful information on their website. You can also read the Florida carry law here: Florida Statute 790.06. You will also need to be familiar with Florida Statute 776.

Anyone may take the class including those who reside in other states and foreign nationals. However, you must meet certain state requirements to receive your permit. The requirements are that you must be at least 21, a permanent U.S. resident and pass several background checks. Visit the Florida web site in the previous paragraph to determine eligibility.

You must first take a firearms safety course accepted by the state of Florida. Once you have your certificate of training, you apply by making an appointment at one of several dozen Concealed Weapon License Service Locations throughout the state – see tabs on the right for local information. You may also apply by mail, but you will need to provide your own fingerprints.

A sure way to fail the class is to intentionally violate one of the gun safety rules. Handling of a firearm is the primary purpose of the course as well as a requirement by the state of Florida. If you follow our instructions you should not have any problems. We assign you your own personal instructor during the shooting portion of the course.

Your driver’s license or state-issued ID. Bring Eye and ear protection. If you wear glasses you can use those as eye protection as long as they completely cover the eye. Bring pen, pencil, a highlighter, drink and lunch. We teach through the lunch hour but you are allowed to drink and eat during class and at breaks. We break for 10 minutes every 2 hours.

No, the course includes 5 hours of classroom with an NRA Instructor, the firearm, the ammunition, the targets, and the range fee.

No. We teach you the basics of safe firearm handling, loading and unloading, stance and aiming. We use a .22 caliber handgun with low recoil. You will be able to hit a 81/2” x 11” target at approximately 15 feet when you complete the course.

We include an orientation, not legal advice, on the Florida Laws (statutes) concerning concealed carry and use of force. Florida law requires that you the citizen are responsible for studying and knowing how and where to carry a concealed firearm as well as when it is legal to use it in self-defense. When you sign the CCW application, you certify to the state of Florida that you have made yourself familiar with Florida Statute 790. Also reciprocity with other states.

Contact the instructor whose number is listed on this page (Luis Jimenez – [email protected] or 910-494-5696). He will answer additional questions you may have.

CCW Application in Escambia County, Florida

The Escambia County Tax Collector’s Office is where you’ll need to go to complete your CCW application in person, but NOT all tax collector locations accept and process CCW applications! According to their website, concealed weapon license applications are being accepted by appointment only at the following locations:

Molino Office (6440 County Hwy 95A, Molino)

Warrington Office (4051 Barrancas Avenue, Suite A, Pensacola) – Appointments for the Warrington Office can be made online by clicking here to use their “qless kiosk” system, or by calling 850-438-6500, Extension 3252.

You may want to click here to read the page regarding CCW applications, to ensure that you bring all the correct items, but you will definitely be required to bring the following:

  • A picture ID, such as your driver’s license or state-issued identification card
  • The original course certificate that we will provide to you as proof of training
  • A check or money order for the correct application amount

You will use a computer to complete the application in the office during the appointment, and they will process your fingerprints and photograph. From what we’ve heard, the turnaround time for getting your CCW this way is significantly faster than mailing the application.

NOTE: We do our best to keep this information up to date, but be sure to practice your own due diligence (check their website and/or give them a call) to save yourself additional legwork from acting on a bit of outdated information.

CCW Application in Santa Rosa County, Florida

The Santa Rosa County Tax Collector’s Office in Pace is where you’ll need to go to complete your CCW application in person. According to their website, concealed weapon license applications are being accepted by appointment only at:

Santa Rosa County Tax Collector’s Office – Pace Branch: 4487 Chumuckla Hwy. Pace, FL 32571
850-983-1800
Appointments can be made online by clicking here to use their appointment booking system, OR by calling 850-983-1800.
Be sure to call before going to ensure their computers are working!

You may want to click here to read their page regarding CCW applications to ensure that you bring all the correct items, but you will definitely be required to bring the following:

  • A picture ID, such as your driver’s license or state-issued identification card
  • The original course certificate that we will provide to you as proof of training
  • A check or money order for the correct application amount

NOTE: We do our best to keep this information up to date, but be sure to practice your own due diligence (check their website and/or give them a call) to save yourself additional legwork from acting on a bit of outdated information.

Meet Our Training Instructors

Luis Jimenez
Certified Firearms Instructor

Perry Bankester
Certified Firearms Instructor

UPCOMING CCW CLASSES

The event calendar holds scheduling information for upcoming CCW training courses.

CCW Concealed Carry Class (om)

November 20 @ 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

CCW Concealed Carry Class (om)

December 18 @ 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

CCW Concealed Carry Class (om)

January 15, 2022 @ 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

CCW Concealed Carry Class (om)

February 19, 2022 @ 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

CLASS LOCATION

Pace Fire Rescue District (Pace Fire Department):

4773 Pace Patriot Blvd, Pace FL 32571

POINTS OF CONTACT

Have Questions? Need Help?

If you have questions about scheduling, registration or the course itself, contact Luis Jimenez at:

[email protected]

910-494-5696 – leave a message.

PAST CCW CLASS PHOTOS

February 2021

December 2020

September 2020

August 2020

July 2020

June 2020

July 2019

June 2019

February 2019

BITE THE BULLET!

ERGC Annual Membership gives you UNLIMITED range visits, allows you to bring GUESTS for a small fee, and INCLUDES your family at no additional cost!

What Are You Waiting For? Join Today!

Apply Now!

OUR PARTNERS